A NEW YORK ADVENTURE

Just after one week back from New York, I’m inspired!

A highlight for me was watching “Avenue Q,” on Broadway.

It’s a great show covering social issues through the use of muppets,

song and acting. This show inspired me, that very night, to write my

own personal stories covering racism, alcoholism, social inequalities

and cancer- which my mum unfortunately was a victim of this horrid

disease and lost her battle in October last year.

 

For the first time in over 20 years, I have sewn 14 puppets!

My puppet musical is called, “The Wong side of life.”

Wong- which was my mum’s maiden name, a tribute to her and

a pun on the phrase “Always look on the bright side of life.”

Needless to say, this show will probably be the

most personal performance of my life and I look forward to share

some of my stories, in hope that the public will walk away with

empathy for others in our society who may have various personal

battles to deal with.

“Don’t judge anyone unless you’ve walked in their shoes!” And remember

the only time we should ever look down on a person is to hold your hand out to

help them up…(a quote from @mateshelpmates)

I’m also grateful to have my art accepted by two galleries in New York..stay

tuned!

Image

Leave a Reply

