My Birthday Blog

birthday

 

Today’s a day of celebrations, not only is it my birthday

but it’s the day I chose to release the Don’t Be a Loser 

music video, (an anti-racism and anti-bullying initiative)

featuring The Wong Side Of Life puppets. Directed by Pearl Tan

and written and produced by myself. I also co-wrote the song

Loser produced / co-written by Paul Wiltshire (Producer of

The Back Street Bays, Human Nature etc).

 

Screen shot 2014-05-03 at 4.00.07 PM

 

As a five year old I remember quite vividly my first week

at school. I watched the year six boys play basketball

during lunch time and wanted to play with them. I watched

and waited for the moment of opportunity when their basketball

rolled out of the basketball court, onto the sidelines to where

I was standing. I quickly grabbed their ball and proudly threw it

back to them, hoping they’d ask me to play. Instead they yelled,

“Get your f##** hands off our ball you bloody JAP!”

Jap??? I didn’t really know what they meant by calling me

a “JAP” as I was an Australian -Chinese.  I then heard

another year six boy say, “She’ll never make it in our

school, bloody Asians, they’re all ugly and the same!”

 

Joy at school - final school play

 

When I told my teacher, she told me not to worry about

them as it was them with the problem not me and said,

“find something you love doing and do it well, then

others will respect you for it.”

 

At that time I was good at sprint running and long jump

and trained hard after school each day to be the best I could

possibly be. After weeks of training, I eventually won the

Junior championship medal and gained respect from my peers.

Some nicknamed me as Hoppy, and sung (Come on Hoppy, Come on,

Come on)  or Joy Runner. By year six I was voted school prefect

and captain… all thanks to my first grade teacher’s advice.

Advice I’ll be sharing with children through my motivational

talks and creativity workshops – Creativity Through Kindness

(The Wong Side of Life).

 

Deanmore School edited

 

Next month we’ll be launching this video into schools

where I’ll be doing my Creativity through Kindness workshops,

starting with Darlington Public school in Sydney.

 

In the music video for Loser, ( “a loser is who you are…loser”)

reveals that the person who bullies or is a racist is in fact

the loser’ not the victim.

 

As long as I live, I hope to put an end to racism and bullying,

with the projects that I do and to promote diversity in the arts.

Projects including the yearly – Joy House Film Festival (21st Sept

@ The Urban Screen) and The Wong Side of Life. 

 

Joy House film festival (long shot)

 

I’d like to thank everyone who supports my vision,

hoping to make a difference. Thank you for making

my birthday special by reading my blog and watching

The Wong Side of Life music video.

Spread the JOY! 

“Loser” music video

Screen shot 2014-05-05 at 4.26.44 PM

Testimonials

Mark Ferguson (Channel 7 Newsreader)

“That’s fantastic, very well done. The louder the better.”

Screen shot 2014-05-06 at 2.55.09 PM

Screen shot 2014-05-06 at 2.55.45 PM

Everyday Hero

“Fantastic Initiative! You’ve truly gone above and beyond, great work!”

Screen shot 2014-05-08 at 11.14.25 AM

 

Leave a Reply

