HAPPY NEW YEAR – my top 10 new year resolutions for 2016

Screen shot 2016-01-02 at 1.53.20 PM

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Welcome year 2016 – a new year to make changes that we’ve been holding off in the past. Now is the the time to make it happen. I’ve made a list of New Year’s resolutions that you may like to take on board and adapt. I hope it brings your life joy!

Start spring cleaning your life! – starting with your home environment, clearing out clutter in your living and bedroom is a good start. Getting rid of junk and unused items that clutter your home is therapeutic as it’s based on the basic principle that the environment in which we live in reflects our inner self. So literally clearing and re-arranging and organising your living space allows your mind to do the same. Freeing yourself of the unnecessary while preserving the essentials allows space for creativity and well being. For me throwing out boxes and perfume bottles I’ve collected through the years and giving away clothes that I haven’t worn for over a year to charities, gives me a new sense of freedom, freedom of living lighter. You can do it too!

Screen shot 2016-01-02 at 2.08.29 PM    clothes final

Making time to spend with friends – life gets so busy as we all get caught up with work. Now is the time to reflect on the friends who have helped you through the tough times and who have supported your work and who make the effort to want to catch up with you. Not the takers but the ones who reciprocate. Those are the friends to make time for and to cherish.

Volunteer / Charity work – it’s time to give to the community. This year I hope to spend more time with charities. It’s time to get healthy so I can give blood to the Red Cross Blood Bank. So many times I’ve been turned down because my iron count is too low. Now is the time to get healthy so I can donate blood / plasma so lives can be saved. For every blood donation it saves up to three lives! Also I’d like to spend more time at the local children’s hospital and charities that I hold close to my heart.

1bd9be8c4ab56cc982f679ced5ddf69d

Time to get healthy – in order to give blood, I have to start eating and exercising more regularly. I’m cutting down on my sugar treats to no more than one treat a day and to exercise 2-3 times a week. Eating vegetables has always been a bit of an effort for me, but to have roasted vegetables and tasty salads like a Thai beef salad is a good start.

In 2016 I’d like to see The Wong Side of Life puppets in more schools across Australia, as it’s a great anti-bullying & anti-racism initiative. It’s rewarding to hear a child say, “I can relate to the Lin Wong character.” As this reinforces the fact that bullying and racism exists in our schools and that role playing and puppet making through our creative workshops can help empower school children.

Screen shot 2014-06-20 at 3.36.09 PM

To spread more joy in the world and to have more diversity content in the media, film and television industry-our Joy House Film Festival surely helps do this. It’s great to see our festival grow through the years and this year I look forward to see more short films that reflect our society and more stories that capture the essence of joy. I look forward to see you there!

Screen shot 2015-02-07 at 5.09.00 PM  Joy House film festival (long shot)

Getting more quality sleep – this year I intent to cut down on my social media to no more than one hour a day in total. By turning off all social media by 10pm, this allows me to have extra sleep. having 7-8 hours sleep is a luxury for me. I look forward to more sleep in 2016.

Traveling – This year I’m looking forward to travel overseas. I’m looking forward to go to Asia and U.S.A. to visit family and friends and to follow through on some business meetings.

Joy and Elmo in NY

Spread joy through my new book release. I’m looking forward to spread more joy in people’s lives through my new book release. Stay tuned.

Forgive and forget – in 2016 it’s time to forgive, forget and move on. One great lesson my late mother told me was, “Don’t feel sorry for yourself as there’s always someone in the world who has had a much harder time than you. So move on!” So on that note, let’s move on and enjoy 2016 – a year of joy!

 

Leave a Reply

